Skip to main content

The Story Orchestra: Carnival of the Animals


The Carnival of the Animals suite is brought to life in this beautifully illustrated reimagining.


Out of stock

Join the waitlist to be emailed when this product becomes available

Katy Flint and Jessica Courtney-Tickle

The Carnival of the Animals is the fifth title in the best-selling Story Orchestra series.

The book reimagines the Carnival of the Animals suite by Camille Saint-Saens, one of the most famous suites of music for children.

One day, two brothers discover a magical animal kingdom behind their bookcase.  They are greeted by the royal lion with his shaggy mane; ask for directions from an old lonely turtle; take a ride on some lumbering elephants; topple a skeleton of dinosaur bones; and swim among a school of shimmering fish.  If only they could take them all home…

The book includes extracts from The Swan, Aquarium, Fossils, and Finale (from Disney’s Fantasia) along with a totally new story to link the pieces together.

As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes, you will press the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from the suite’s music.  At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Camille Saint-Saens, with details about his composition of Carnival of the Animals.  Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms and musical techniques that make them so powerful.  A glossary defines musical terms.

The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores.

Format:  Hardcover

Pages:  24


SKU 9780711249523
Weight 0.5 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.